Development Policy and Cooperation

World Vision in Uganda - Saatgut

World Vision in Uganda - Saatgut, © dpa


Development Policy and Cooperation

Responsable Delgate: Leveke Neumann, Tel. +33 (0)1 55 74 57 09, Contact form

In Articles 1 and 2 of the Convention establishing the OECD, the Members pledge to promote economic development also in non‑member countries by appropriate means. Development policy and development cooperation are therefore founding goals of the OECD.

The development cluster within the OECD consists of the Development Assistance Committee (DAC), the Development Centre (DEV) and the Sahel and West Africa Club, to which Germany does not belong.

1. The Development Assistance Committee (DAC)

This offers OECD Members, the EU and multilateral organisations with a development focus an important platform for dialogue on development policy. As well as the EU, the DAC includes those OECD Members involved in development cooperation. The Committee has 30 members. Another six OECD countries (“participants”) and a number of multilateral organisations (“observers”) regularly take part in DAC meetings. Germany is a member of the DAC.

The Committee meets once every two years at ministerial level, once a year on Director General level, and eight or nine times a year at the level of the permanent delegates. The DAC includes six thematic sub‑committees (on environment, gender, governance, conflict and fragility, evaluation, and statistics).

Priorities of the work of the DAC include setting quality standards for development cooperation, standardising documentation of the contributions of DAC members on the basis of common statistical registration guidelines (ODA) and regularly assessing DAC members' development policy and cooperation by means of peer reviews.

In Germany's view, important DAC work goals are:

    Reform of the statistical collection of Official Development Assistance

    Identification of the OECD's contribution to implementing the Sustainable  

    Development Goals adopted by the United Nations by 2030 (Agenda 2030)
    Clarification of which financing measures undertaken by non-state players for
    development‑related contributions should be counted as ODA

2. The OECD Development Centre (DEV)

The Development Centre is the OECD's development policy think tank. In Germany's view, the role of the DEV as a mediator between developing countries and industrialised nations should be expanded by incorporating additional members. Currently, 51 countries belong to the DEV – 27 OECD Members and another 24 Asian, African and Latin American countries.

Thanks to its broad‑based membership, the Centre provides an inclusive forum for political dialogue on an equal footing between the OECD and developing countries. Its publications include: “Latin American Economic Outlook”, “African Economic Outlook”, “South East Asian Economic Outlook” and “Perspectives on Global Development” as well as multidimensional country profiles (Myanmar, Uruguay, Peru, Côte d'Ivoire).

More information:
Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development

Top of page